Radyo Natin

Metro cities, regions declare 'State of Calamity'

Ten cities and municipalities in Metro Manila, and six provinces in Luzon were put under 'State of Calamity' due of massive flooding after four days of unrelenting monsoon rains.
National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council has placed under 'State of calamity' cities of Marikina, Malabon, Navotas, Valenzuela, Muntinlupa, San Juan, Pasig, Pasay, Caloocan and Pateros.
In Central Luzon, calamity hit areas are Bataan, Pampanga, Zambales, Bulacan and Laguna. Palawan province is also included in Southern Luzon's list.
Quezon City recorded the most number of affected families but has not yet declared a 'State of Calamity'. About 72,468 people were affected by flood in the city and majority of them, roughly 72,264 individuals are staying in 57 evacuation centers.
Marikina City was also one of the cities most affected by the continuous rains since Sunday night.
Overall, 246,808 people have been affected in 17 areas in Metro Manila. Moreover, regions that were affected by the monsoon rains were Ilocos, Central Luzon, Calabarzon, Mimaropa and Western Visayas.
Iyaz Kamias
Maja Limuyak
Valeen Kinitan

Radyo Natin is a network of Manila Broadcasting Company.
We are located at MBC Building, CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Pasay 1307, Philippines
All rights reserved. Site authentication by GatePass.
More stories
Last Modified: 2017-Jan-21 01.01.22 UTC+0800